Instructions to Apply for a Pistol Permit

1. You must be 21 years of age and be a resident of Niagara County. You are not
required to buy or own a gun at the time of application.

2. You may obtain an application packet at the Niagara County Pistol Permit Office,
the County Clerk’s Office or at any one of our three DMV office locations:

North Tonawanda Lockport Niagara Falls

500 Wheatfield St 111 Main St. 1001 11th St.

M-F 9:00 am — 4:30 pm M-F 9:00 am — 4:30 pm M-F 9:00 am — 4:30 pm
Tuesday until 6:30 pm Thursday until 6:30 Wednesday until 6:30

3. Upon careful completion of the application, pistol permit applicants must submit
it in person at the Pistol Permit Office. A $10 application must be paid at this
time. Check, cash, money order, MasterCard or Discover made payable to
Niagara County Clerk.

4. Several background checks will then be completed by the NYS Police and the FBI.
Applicants will also be interviewed by their local law enforcement agency. After
all necessary steps are successfully completed, the application is submitted to the
Licensing Officer (County or Supreme Court Judge).

5. If approved, the applicant will receive notification to appear in person to begin
completing the process.

Registration of Handguns

As of March 15, 2013 Private “Person-to-Person” gun sales in NYS require a National
Instant Criminal (NICS) Background Check.

When a gun is purchased from an immediate family member, a dated bill of sale is
required to add the pistol to the new owner's permit. The bill of sale must show both the
buyer's and seller's names, addresses, permit numbers, and the counties that permits
are in. The gun must be described by make, model, caliber action and serial number.
Once the handgun is registered at our department, it may be picked up by the buyer, and
the seller has 10 days to come to the Pistol Permit Office to have the weapon removed
from his/her permit.

The NICS form, along with purchase receipt, must be brought to the Pistol Permit
Office in order for the gun to put on buyer’s permit.


http://www.governor.ny.gov/nysafeact/gun-owners
http://www.governor.ny.gov/nysafeact/gun-owners

When a gun is purchased from a dealer, the dealer receipt is required. The receipt must
show the buyer's name, address, permit number, and the make, model, caliber action
and serial number of the gun. The dealer's name, address, New York State dealer
number and county the dealership is in must also appear on the receipt. Once the
handgun is registered at the Pistol Permit Office, a purchase coupon is given to the
buyer, to allow him/her to pick up the weapon from the dealer.

There is a $3.00 amendment fee for the registration of a handgun to a permit.

As per New York State Police Pistol Permit Division, all firearms receipts must include
all of the following:

Make

Model

Caliber

Action (Revolver, Semi-Auto, Single-Shot, Derringer)

Serial Number

If all the above information is not included, your transaction will not be
processed.

Link to RECEIPT FORM should go here

Removing Handguns from Permit

When a gun is sold to an individual, a dated bill of sale is required to remove the pistol
from the seller's permit. The bill of sale must show both the buyer's and seller's names,
addresses, permit numbers and counties that permits are in. The gun must be described
by make, model, caliber action and serial number. Once the gun has been registered and
picked up by the buyer, the seller has 10 days to come to the Pistol Permit Office and
have it removed from his/her permit. If the buyer is from a county other than Erie
County, he/she must provide the seller with a purchase coupon upon delivery of the
registered gun. This coupon must then be provided to our department by the seller when
removing the gun.

When a gun is sold to a dealer, the dealer receipt is required. The receipt must show the
seller's name, address, permit number, and make, model, caliber action and serial



number of the gun. The dealer's name, address, New York State dealer number and
county the dealership is in must also appear on the receipt.

There is a $3.00 amendment fee to remove a handgun from a permit.

Death of a Permit Holder

New York State Law requires that upon a permit holder's death, the decedent's estate
must, within 15 days, turn over the decedent's firearm(s) to another pistol permit
holder; a licensed dealer; or the local police department.

The estate is also requested to notify the Niagara County Pistol Permit Office of the
permit holder's passing. If the decedent is an immediate family member, complete an
Estate Receipt Form LINK to Estate Receipt Form here provide a copy of a death
certificate and information about the disposition of the firearm(s), so that the license
may be cancelled. If the decedent is not a member of the immediate family, please call
the Pistol Permit Office at 716-439-7184.

Additional Information

Changes in Name, Address or County

Name Change

A name change requires the permit holder to appear at the Pistol Permit Office with
proof of the new name in the form of a marriage certificate or Court Order. A fee of
$3.00 is charged to change the name on a pistol permit. If you have a paper permit, you
must obtain a plastic card, for a charge of $5.00.

Address Change

A change of address requires the permit holder to notify the Pistol Permit Office within
10 days of the change. You may send a written notification or come to our office in
person with your permit to effect the change. There is a $3 charge for address changes.
Co-Regqistration

Co-Registration of handguns is allowed within the same household only. The Pistol

Permit office requires the primary owner of the handgun(s) to give permission for co-
registration verbally (in person), or with a signed handwritten note. All pistol permit



holders are responsible for the co-registered handgun(s), and the primary owner is the
only one allowed to sell the handgun(s). Once the handgun(s) are sold, it is the
responsibility of all co-registrants to dispose of handgun(s). Transactions must be done
in person by each individual pistol permit holder.

Link to CO-REGISTRATION Form should go here
Transfer to Different County

To transfer your pistol permit to another county, you must appear at the Niagara County
Pistol Permit Office.

Lost or Stolen Permits

You may obtain a duplicate pistol permit when your original permit is lost, stolen or
mutilated. We will arrange for a duplicate when you appear at the Pistol Permit
Department with a list of your guns which includes the make, caliber and serial number
of each gun. You will be given a duplicate information form to be completed at our office
when you come in. The fee for a duplicate permit is $5.00.

Note: Pistol permits cannot be laminated.

Any questions you may have can be directed to the Pistol Permit Department at 716-
439-7184.



